New Google Groups becoming the default for all users on September 15, 2020

What’s changing 

Earlier this year, we made the new Google Groups generally available. Since then, it’s been the default version of Groups, but admins could turn off the new interface for their users via an Admin console setting. 
Starting on September 15, 2020, we will make new Groups the default for all users. When this happens:

Visit our Help Center for more information on new Groups and the transition from classic Groups

Who’s impacted 

Admins and end users 

Why it’s important 

New Groups has a more efficient and streamlined user interface, which makes it easier for users to create and manage groups. See our previous announcement for a full overview of the new Groups experience. In that announcement, we noted that some features in classic Groups were not yet available in new Groups. Since then, we’ve listened to your feedback and recently launched several highly requested features, including: 
We’re working to add more soon. See the Help Center for the full list of features we’re planning to launch, and follow the G Suite Updates blog for launch announcements. 

Additional details 

Planning for a complete migration to new Groups 
We’re planning to migrate all users to new Groups at a future date. At that time, classic Groups will no longer be available. We’ll announce this change on the G Suite Updates blog at least three weeks before it takes place. Note that you can use the Help Center to see a list of the features that we don’t plan to add to new Groups before this migration. 

Getting started 

  • Admins: The Admin console setting to turn off new Groups for your users will be removed. There will no longer be a way for you to require your users to use classic Groups. Visit the Help Center to learn more about new Groups and the transition from classic Groups. 
  • End users: End users will see new Groups by default when they go to groups.google.com, but can revert to classic Groups at any time. Visit the Help Center to learn how to go back to classic Groups. If users were already using new Groups there will be no change to their experience with this change. 

Rollout pace 

Availability 

  • Available to all G Suite customers

Resources 

Read More